State Of Emergency Extends To Four Regions

The level of restiveness in South Sudan has continued unabated with the government forced to extend its declared state of emergency as a security measure.

South Sudan on Friday said it had extended the state of emergency in four restive states until 2018 to curb the recent spike in clashes between rival communities and clan-based violence.
Presidential spokesman Ateny Wek Ateny told newsmen in Juba that President Salva Kiir extended the state of emergency to three more months in the northern states of Wau, Tonj, Gogrial and Aweil.
“The President on Thursday, extended state of emergency in four states. The reason is disarmament and conflicts between communities in these areas,’’ Ateny said in Juba.
The state of emergency was initially declared in July in the war-torn country which covers president Kiir’s home area of Gogrial.
At Gogrial, two rival ethnic Dinka clans of the Apuk and Gwok have continued to clash amid killings, cattle theft and displacements.
“In Gogrial, the conflict is between the Agwok and Apuk clans and Wau is fighting between rival communities,’’Ateny disclosed.

Source: Xinhua/NAN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here