Davido’s Uncle, Ademola Adeleke Defeats Aregbesola’s Candidate; Wins Osun West Poll + Full Results

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday declared Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party as the winner of the Osun West Senatorial District bye-election.

The election was held in the 10 local government areas that make up the district.

The winner, who is the younger brother of the late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, had 97,480 votes to defeat a former senator, Mudashiru Hussein, of the All Progressives Congress, who had 66,116 votes,

Announcing the result in Iwo, the Osun West Senatorial District headquarters, Baritor Kpagih, the INEC Residential Electoral Commissioner for the bye-election, said Adeleke won in nine out of the 10 local government areas where the election was held.

Kpagih consequently returned Adeleke as senator to complete the tenure of the late Adeleke, who died on April 23.

He gave the breakdown of the election results in the 10 local government areas as follows:

APC: 12,205

PDP: 12,547

APC: 5,316

PDP: 5,618

APC: 5,360

PDP: 5,789

APC: 12,229

PDP: 9,723

APC: 8,952

PDP: 9,096

Ede North
APC: 2,784

PDP: 18,559

Ede South
APC: 2,096

PDP: 13,406

APC: 7179

PDP: 9,061

APC: 4,768

PDP: 7,142

APC: 5,227

PDP: 6,539

Adeleke would represent the senatorial district till 2019 when another election would be conducted.


  1. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your site.
    I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and
    related information ended up being truly simple to do to access.
    I recently found what I hoped for before you know
    it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme
    . a tones way for your client to communicate.

    Nice task.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here