These 20 Aspirants Show Interest In Late Senator Isiaka Adeleke’s Seat

No fewer than 20 aspirants are eyeing the senatorial seat vacated by late Senator Isiaka Adeleke who died on April 23rd 2017.

Amiloaded correspondent gathered that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) fixed the bye election for Saturday July 8th 2017.

The INEC, in a timetable released and signed by Administrative Secretary, Osun State, Barrister Ademusire E A. said that consequent upon the provisions of the enabling statutes that bye elections to fill the declared vacant seat by National Assembly be conducted within 30days upon the declaration, the bye election for Osun West Senatorial seat will hold on Saturday 8th July 2017.

The timetable released further revealed that June 15 would be last day for submission of form, June 22nd for last day for publication of form, June 30 for submission of names and addresses of party agents and July 6th is the last day for campaign by political parties.

Among the strong contenders to the vacant seat are the national ex-officio of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Hon. Akintola Omolaoye, the State secretary of APC, Rasaq Salinsile, the junior brother to Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Ademola Adeleke, Alhaji Tiamiyu Bello, Mr. Tijani Adekilekun and Alhaji Sule Alao all on the platform of APC.

Aspirants on the platform of Peoples’ Democratic Party Hon. Bamidele Salam, Hon Rasheed Oyebanji Adeyemo, Hon Ajibade Falade, senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi, Comrade Wale Alakinde and retired Colonel Olayiwola Falabi among others.

Though the APC is yet to lift restriction on party activities, it was gathered that the committee set up by the party to determine whether the party ticket should be zoned to the home town of Adeleke, Ede or throw the ticket open to all the local government councils in the senatorial district has not finalised its work.

The party leadership in the report submitted revealed that the two local governments where Adeleke hails from want the ticket to be zoned to Ede as compensation while three local governments want the ticket go to the federal constituency of Adeleke and the rest five local government want it to open to all.

The local governments in the senatorial District are Isokan, Irewole, Ayedaade, Iwo, Ayedire, Ede North and Ede south. Others are Egbedore, Ejigbo and Olaoluwa.

The party is however looking into the report and would soon come out with its findings and declaration.

See photos of the aspirants below..

Source: Najaloaded


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here