Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo fails to inagurate ministers

Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo has decided not to inaugurate the two ministers who were recently confirmed by the Senate at the commencement of the weekly meeting of the Federal Executive Council.
The ministers were confirmed two weeks ago by the Senate on May 3,  the  new ministers are , Stephen Ocheni (Kogi) and Suleiman Hassan (Gombe).
The slots of Kogi and Gombe States in the federal cabinet had been vacant following the death of the Minister of State for Labour, Mr. James Ocholi (SAN), in an accident on March 6, 2016; and the appointment of former Minister of the Environment, Amina Mohammed, as the Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations.
Journalists had thought the new ministers would be inaugurated and assigned portfolios at the commencement of the FEC meeting last Wednesday as was the norm, but that did not happen.
Again on Wednesday, the inauguration did not take place.
No official explanation has been given for Osinbajo’s failure to inaugurate the ministers.
Osinbajo has been performing the roles of Acting President since President Muhammadu Buhari left the country penultimate Sunday for further medical consultation in London, United Kingdom.
Source: ( Punch Newspaper )


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here