21 Prisoners Get State Pardon From Taraba Governor


Taraba State Governor, Darius Ishaku, on Friday granted state pardon to 21 prisoners serving different jail terms in the state.

The State Chief Press Secretary, Hassan Mijinyawa, who disclosed this in a statement said the pardon was a gesture carried out in line with the powers conferred on the governor by section 212 sub-sections 1 of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

He added that convicts were pardoned following recommendations of the State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy for the remission of jail terms imposed on the prisoners by the courts in Gembu, Jalingo, Serti and Wukari.

Meanwhile, the state Comptroller of Prisons has with immediate effect been directed to release the 21 persons.

The statement list the forgiven prisoners as: Yankari Isaac, Philibus Maisamari, Lawan Saidu, Aisha Abdullahi, Alani Usman, Isah Mohammed, Adamu Bappa, Mohammed Babamuri, Emmanuel Jibril, Bala Usman, Zabee Kangauyo, Yusuf Jibril, Nacha Abdullahi, Chika Akabuaga, Sunday Okechukwu, Mbagaji Orker and Dominic Nzinang Bukuni.

Also on the list are Demega Krea, Wuese, Musa Ibrahim and Isaac Kana.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here