Buhari Sacks 16 Permanent Secretaries, To Scrap 7 Ministries

President Muhammadu Buhari-official-portrait

President Muhammadu Buhari, yesterday fired 16 permanent secretaries, appointed 18 new ones and deployed a total of 36 permanent secretaries.

Out of the 36 permanent secretaries, 25 were deployed to ministries, while 11 were deployed to various offices in The Presidency, Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation (OHCSF), and Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF).

A statement by presidential spokesman, Mr. Femi Adesina stated that the new appointments and deployments took immediate effect from November 10, 2015.

One of those affected is Mr. Linus Awute, the erstwhile Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health.

Some of the old permanent secretaries led by the new Acting Head of Civil Service of the federation, Mrs. Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita, had held a closed door with the President earlier yesterday. At the meeting, it was gathered that the President intimated them of the sack gale.

Mrs Winifred Oyo-Ita in a statement, yesterday, confirmed that President Buhari during a meeting held with all permanent secretaries at the Presidential Villa in Abuja Tuesday, directed 16 permanent secretaries to proceed on retirement. Oyo-Ita said that while thanking the 16 perm secs for their meritorious service to the country, the President explained that the retirement, appointments and deployment of the Permanent Secretaries were necessary to reposition the civil service.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here