Oyo: Tribunal Throws Out Ladoja’s Petition, Upholds Ajimobi’s Election

Rasheed Ladoja

The Oyo State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has dismissed the petition filed by the candidate of Accord Party, Sen. Rashidi Ladoja against the election of Governor Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Chairman of the three-man panel, Justice Mohammed Mayaki, held that Ladoja and Accord “failed woefully” to prove their allegations of rigging, electoral malpractices, violence and non-compliance with the Electoral Act among others, beyond reasonable doubt.

It rejected the evidences presented by all Ladoja’s witnesses, saying they were not specific to incidents as claimed.

The tribunal, therefore, upheld the election of the incumbent governor having polled the majority of votes cast in the April 11 election.

The APC polled 327,310, Accord- 254,520, LP – 184,111, PDP – 79,019 and SDP – 54,740.

The victory made Ajimobi the first Oyo State governor to be re-elected for a second term. Former governors, Bola Ige, Lamidi Adesina, Alao Akala and Ladoja have all lost their re-election bids.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here