LG Election: Five Chairmen Were Sacked In Anambra

The tribunal of Anambra State local government election has sacked five chairmen and some councilors declared winners in the December 14, 2013 poll.


Those chairmen were from Ogbaru, Ihiala, Idemili South, Awka North and Awka South.

The state judiciary has already set up three election appeal tribunals to handle appeals that arose following the nullification of the elections.

The three-member local government election tribunals, which were constituted after the December 14, 2013 local government election, sat for 60 days in three centers at Awka, Onitsha and Ekwulobia.

Fifty six petitions (46 for councillorship and 10 for chairmanship) were filed in Awka and at the expiration of the deadline, judgment was delivered in 10 petitions, 24 petitions were struck out, 18 petitions were not concluded for want of time, while five cases were adjourned sine die.

For Onitsha zone, 22 petitions were handled and only five went for full trial and judgment, while 17 petitions were struck out.

In Ekwulobia, of the 41 petitions filed, 19 were fully heard and determined and judgment delivered in nine, while nine were disposed of after a short hearing.

Yesterday, the Chief Registrar of the Anambra State judiciary, Mrs. N.D. Ezeani, stated in Awka that 19 appeals have been filed after the winding up of the local government election tribunals, with eleven appeals filed in Awka zone, three in Onitsha and five in Ekwulobia, adding that parties not satisfied with the judgment at the tribunals had seven days within which to file their notices of appeal.

Mrs. Ezeani said the state judiciary was impressed with the performance of the local government election tribunals.

She also said that the appeal tribunals would be the final for the determination of the cases.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here