Conference Releases Names Of Standing Committees’ Members

ConfabThe list of Committees for the National conference was released on Tuesday without any of the youth delegates represented in the Committee for devolution of power.

Information Nigeria learnt that the list of the committees and their members was distributed to the delegates at the plenary session.

However, the Conference did not name leaders for the newly constituted committees.

The committees are Devolution of Powers; Political Restructuring and Forms of Government; National Security; Environment; Politics and Governance; Law, Judiciary; Human Rights and Legal Reform; Social Welfare; and Transportation.

Others are Science, Technology and Development; Agriculture; Civil Society, Labour and Sports; Public Service; Electoral Matters; Foreign Policy and Diaspora Matters; Land Tenure Matters and National Boundary; Trade and Investment; Energy; Religion; Public Finance and Revenue Generation; and Immigration and Related Matters.

All the committees with the exception of three, have 24 members each. The Committees on Devolution of Powers and Political Restructuring and Forms of Government have 28 members each while that on Religion comprises 18 members.

The Committee is made up of elder statesmen like Malam Tanko Yakasai, former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, Niger Delta activist, Annkio Briggs, former governor, Obong Victor Attah and former Nigerian Ambassador to the U.S, Prof. Jubrin Aminu.

Others are: Ayo Adebanjo; former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Ahmadu Ali; former National Chairman of the defunct National Advance Party, NAP, Tunji Braithwaite; former Deputy Senate President, Ibrahim Mantu; former Health Minister, Alphonsus Nwosu; and a former Senator, Gbemisola Saraki.

Some members of the Committee on Political Restructuring and Forms of Government are Convener of Save Nigeria Group (SNG), Pastor Tunde Bakare; former Ebonyi State Governor, Sam Egwu; Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosunmu; former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Olu Falae; President of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Gary Igariwey; former Rivers State Governor, Peter Odili; former Niger State Governor, Abdulkadir Kure; ThisDay publisher, Nduka Obaigbena; former governors of Akwa Ibom and Plateau States, Ndongesit Nkanga and Fidelis Tapgun respectively.

National Coordinator of the Odua Peoples Congress, Gani Adams; former FCT Minister, Jerry Useni; former governor of the old Cross River State, Paul Omu; and Zamani Lekwot are some of the prominent members that make up the Committee of National Security.

Former Senate President, Adolphus Wabara; former senators, Femi Okurounmu and Florence Ita-Giwa; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ghali Umar Na’Abba; former Environment Minister, Hassan Adamu; former Information Minister, Jerry Gana; legal luminary, Mike Ahamba; Onyema Ugochukwu; and co-founder of Newswatch magazine, Ray Ekpu, are in in the Committee on Politics and Governance.

Among the members of the Committee on Law, Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Reforms are former NBA President, Olisa Agbakoba; former deputy governor of Lagos State, Kofoworola Akerele-Bucknor, Femi Falana; former Justice Minister, Bayo Ojo; former Legal Adviser to Sani Abacha, Auwalu Yadudu; and Mike Ozekhome.

Those in the Committee on Political Parties and Electoral Matters are former Ogun State Governor, Olusegun Osoba; former Senate President, Iyorchia Ayu; former President of Ijaw National Congress, Kimse Okoko; former NUJ President, Sani Zoro; and former Imo State Governor, Achike Udenwa.

Some members of the Committee on Energy are former Justice Minister, Richard Akinjide; former Oyo State Governor, Rasheed Ladoja; former Minister of State for Petroleum, Edmund Daukoru; former senators, Yisa Braimoh, Femi Kila and John Brambaifa; and former governor of the old Anambra State, Jim Nwobodo.

Recently pardoned ex-governor of Bayelsa State, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha; former Kaduna State Governor, Tanko Ayuba; a former senator, Azu Agboti; and Sergeant Awuse are the prominent members that make up the Committee on Public Finance and Revenue.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here