Nigeria are Top Seed for Afcon 2015 Qualifiers.

Champions, Nigeria, will be top seed for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers.

This is part of several conclusions drawn by the CAF Executive Committee (ExCo) at the end of its meeting in the Cape Town International Convention Centre on January 24th.

The top ranking for the next edition of Africa’s flagship football tournament billed for Morocco, was determined by a points system awarded according to the performance of the teams during the
three last editions of the AFCON; during the qualifiers of these editions, as well as the 2014 Brazil World Cup qualifiers.

Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Mali and Zambia are, thus; the other top seeds for the 2015 Afcon.

The Super Eagles of Nigeria, Winners of the 2013 Afcon.
The Super Eagles of Nigeria, Winners of the 2013 Afcon.

Moroccan cities of Rabat, Agadir, Tanger, and Marrakech play host to the 2015 finals beginning from January 17 to February 7 2015.

The draws for the qualifying series comes up on April 27 in Cairo, Egypt. The format for the qualifiers involves several preliminary rounds, as well as a group phase with seven groups consisting of four teams each. The group phase qualifiers begins September 5th and ends November 19th, 2014.

The two top teams of each group will then directly qualify for the Orange AFCON 2015, along with the 3rd place winners of the seven groups.

The draw for the Group Stage of Afcon 2015 comes up on November 26th in Morocco with the host City to be named subsequently.

Also CAF are to decide on the hosts for the 2019 and 2021 Afcon in September.

Algeria have tabled a formal bid for both tournaments. Other countries interested in staging the 2019 Afcon are Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Guine, DR Congo, Zambia, while Ivory Coast and Guinea wants the 2021 edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here