FG Still Parading Sacked Ministers As FEC Members Online

The Federal Government is yet to make necessary changes on the nation’s official web portal, thirty-two days after nine ministers were axed in the first major cabinet shake-up since President Goodluck Jonathan’s inauguration on May 29, 2011, Punch findings have shown.


A check yesterday on www.nigeria.gov.ng  reveals that the names and portfolios of four of the nine axed ministers were retained as subsisting members of the Federal Executive Council. On the portal, erstwhile Minister of State for Defence, Olusola Obada, leads the pack of sacked ministers still being referred to as cabinet members.

Others include former Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Alhaji Buka Tijani; Science and Technology, Prof. Okon Bassey-Ewa;  as well as the Minister of State for Power, Zainab Kuchi, who were relieved of their positions,  were still being referred to as FEC members on the portal.

But apart from the official national portal that still parades axed ministers as FEC members, some ministries are also doing the same.

For instance, the Federal Ministry of the Environment has yet to see reasons to describe Hajia Hadiza Mailafa as a former minister on its website. Both local and foreign visitors to environment.gov.ng, hoping to conduct official businesses with the ministry,  would still read a “Welcome Message’’ written by Mailafa.

On the website of the Ministry of Defence, mod.gov.ng, Obada’s photograph appeared conspicuously on a picture gallery section of the portal where the profiles of the management team of the ministry were uploaded. No mention was made of the supervising minister for the ministry, Labaran Maku, who doubles as the minister of information.

The Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs is also yet to make the changes on its website, www.foreignaffairs.gov.ng. On its list of past and present ministers who held sway in the ministry, Olugbenga Ashiru, who was at the helms until September 11, is still being referred to as the incumbent.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here