10 Firms, 20 Individuals Get National Productivity Awards

Labour and Productivity Minister, Chief Emeka Wogu
Labour and Productivity Minister, Chief Emeka Wogu

About 20 individuals and 10 firms have been selected for the National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) in recognition of their hard work, performance, productivity and efforts towards research.

Making the announcement in Abuja on Monday, Labour and Productivity Minister, Chief Emeka Wogu, at a press briefing on the upcoming 13th national productivity day and conferment awards emphasised that no nation can enhance the quality of life of its citizens or improve competitiveness in the global market without productivity improvement in all sectors of its economy.

“Productivity is indeed the most important determinant of socio-economic growth, wealth creation, employment generation and overall improved standard of living,” he said, adding that the national productivity day, which is observed on February 21, was enacted to encourage and foster healthy competition in production among workers, firms and companies in Nigeria.

Some of those selected for the 2013, NPOM awards are Deputy President of the NLC, Mr. Promise Adewusi, renowned academician, Prof. Oba Abdulraheem, and popular Abuja retail outlet, Sahad Stores.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here