Luis Suarez Named In PFA Team of The Year

Liverpool’s Luis Suarez has been named in the Professional Footballers’ Association Team of the Year, despite a season marred by controversy.


Suarez’s 23 goals this season – which make him the second highest scorer in the Premier League – earned him the nod alongside Robin van Persie and Gareth Bale, though he missed out to the Welshman in the race to win PFA Player of the Year.

The Uruguay international is currently serving a ten-match suspension for biting Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic, but the PFA insisted his on-field achievements would be recognised.

Premier League champions Manchester United dominated the Team of the Year, with four players – including Van Persie, Michael Carrick, Rio Ferdinand and David De Gea – named in the side.

Arsenal were the only club in the top seven to miss out on having a player selected, with Everton’s Leighton Baines, Manchester City’s Pablo Zabaleta and Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and Juan Mata selected.

A number of players turned to Twitter to express their pride at being awarded in such esteemed company.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here