Chris Okotie’s Party, 27 others Deregistered by INEC

Fresh Democratic Party (FDP) owned by presidential aspirant, Pastor Chris Okotie, was one of the 28 political parties deregistered by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday.

According to a statement signed by the Commission’s Secretary, Abdulahi Kaugama, the action was taken in exercise of INEC’s powers based on the I999 Constitution (as amended) and the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended). INEC, in the statement, reiterated its commitment to relating with political parties in accordance with extant laws and for the benefit of the country’s democracy.

Other parties affected were Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), owned by Chairman of Conference of Nigerian Political Parties (CNPP) and former Governor of old Kano State, Alhaji Balarabe Musa; African Liberation Party (ALP), Action Party of Nigeria (APN), African Political System (APS), Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP), Congress for Democratic Change (CDC), Community Party of Nigeria (CPN), Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA), and Freedom Party of Nigeria (FPN).

Others are Hope Democratic Party (HDP), Justice Party (JP), Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria (LDPN), Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ), Movement for the Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD), Nigeria Advanced Party (NAP), New Democrats (ND) and National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP).

Also competing the list are National Movement of Progressive Party (NMPP), National Reformation Party (NRP), National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP), Progressive Action Congress (PAC), Peoples Mandate Party (PMP), Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), People’s Salvation Party (PSP), Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN), United National Party for Development (UNPD), and United Nigeria Peoples Party (UNPP).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here