ANPP secures foothold in Ebonyi

EVEN as the results for Ikwo/Ezza South and Ebonyi/Ohaukwu federal
constituencies were unavailable as at press time on Sunday, the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) appeared to have broken the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) grip on power in Ebonyi State.

Elections were held in two senatorial districts – Ebonyi South and Central – and in five federal constituencies.

In Ishielu/Ezza North Federal Constituency, the ANPP candidate, Peter Ede, coasted home to victory according to results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the constituency headquarters.

Ede polled 28,123 votes to beat the PDP, which scored 19,517; All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) 2,867; Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) 1,370; and National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP) 1,526 votes.
Mr. Sonni Ogbuoji of the PDP was declared winner of the Ebonyi-South Senatorial District seat, having scored 65,752 votes.

He defeated six candidates in ANPP, 16,501; APGA, 4,218; ACN, 11,602; NSDP, 987; PPA, 860; Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), 313.

Results for Ebonyi Central were still being collated as at press time. Sources indicated that there was a mix-up in the recording of the results in the sheets, which sparked riots.

At the Afikpo North/South Federal Constituency, INEC announced that the PDP candidate, Christopher Omo Isu, polled 32,154 votes. He was trailed by ANPP, 7,234 votes; ACN, 3,782; APGA, 2,481; Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), 316; NSDP, 326 and PPA, 468 votes.
Announcing the result for Abakaliki/Izzi Federal Constituency, the returning officer, Dr. Beatrice Achilike, disclosed that the PDP candidate, Sylvester Ogbaga, won the election with total votes of 45,559.

Ogbaga defeated seven other candidates, including Mr. Emmanuel Uguru of the ANPP, who polled 16,300 votes and the APGA candidate, Uchenna Mbam, who secured 6,149 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here